Keystone logo
Chung Shan Medical University

Chung Shan Medical University

Chung Shan Medical University


Due to the shortage of dentists in the post war era during the 54's in Taiwan, Dr. Ju-Chuan Chou founded Chung Shan Dental Junior College (the antecedent of Chung Shan Medical University) in 1960 with the purpose of training dentists. The school was named after Dr. Sun Yat-Sen, alias Chung-Shan, in recognition of his patriotism. The demand for the institute to be elevated to the college level was growing with the time. After much effort and program enforcement, in 1977, our school was granted by the Ministry of Education to advance to Chung Shan Medical and Dental College. Yet, we kept progressing and expanding. In 2001, the institute was reorganized as Chung Shan Medical University (CSMU).

Currently, the CSMU consists of four colleges, which are College of Medicine, College of Oral Medicine, College of Medical Sciences and Technology, College of Health Care and Management, College of Medical Humanities . There are 21 academic departments and 18 graduate institutes. We have about 450 full-time faculty, 250 part-time faculty, and 260 staffs working on campus. And about 7,566 undergraduate and graduate students are enrolled.

In addition, as a medical university, we have four affiliated hospital districts --- Da-Ching District, Chung-Kang District, Wen-Hsin District and Chung-Shing District. Each district has its own specialties and the state-of-the-art clinical facilities, e.g. the first PET scanning machine in Taiwan.


  • 110號

    Section 1, 40201, 110號